How is Private better than Public?

From a BBC article on the uproar currently happening in London over the security situation for the Olympic Games just weeks away:

Jennie Kesall, from Manchester, was due to start working for G4S next week but said she was still waiting for her uniform and paperwork.

“On 15 June I was offered a job in Glasgow to work in one of the venues there if I was interested, and I replied saying that I was,” she said.

“Since then I have not heard anything. Also, if I have got the job am I supposed to be going to Glasgow next Monday to start? I have no uniform, passes, contract or confirmation. I have tried contacting them asking for information but I have heard nothing.”

This all from a private company that was hired to supply security for the events. It’s a good example of a private company bumbling along, something that normally is attributed to the government. Companies have failures all the time, it’s just that normally they have competitors in the market with overlapping goods or services so one’s failure is gain for another. This all changes when the industry is a monopoly (which it seems to have been here, or at least it was structured as such) and there are no competitors waiting in the wings to smooth things over.

I would be very interested in knowing how the bid was accepted and if there were benchmarks along the way that the company had to prove they were following. Also who’s going to cover the cost of bringing in all the police and armed forces? Or do the companies just get to take in profits without the risk of losses?

0 Responses to “How is Private better than Public?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

